ARC Review: Everything I Left Unsaid by Molly O' Keefe

12 Oct 2015

Book Title: Everything I Left Unsaid
Author: Molly O' Keefe
Series: Everything I Left Unsaid #1
Release Date: October 13th, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Fans of Jodi Ellen Malpas, K. Bromberg, and Joanna Wylde will be unable to resist this sexy, deeply intimate tale of a woman running from her past, and the darkly mysterious man who sets her free.

I didn’t think answering someone else’s cellphone would change my life. But the stranger with the low, deep voice on the other end of the line tempted me, awakened my body, set me on fire. He was looking for someone else. Instead he found me.

And I found a hot, secret world where I felt alive for the first time.

His name was Dylan, and, strangely, he made me feel safe. Desired. Compelled. Every dark thing he asked me to do, I did. Without question. I longed to meet him, but we were both keeping secrets. And mine were dangerous. If I took the first step, if I got closer to Dylan—emotionally, physically—then I wouldn’t be hiding anymore. I would be exposed, with nothing left to surrender but the truth. And my truth could hurt us both.



 photo 7A02AA52-9A89-42E7-94F6-7DD298CE1DA4_zps1kllpfzp.gif

Everything I Left Unsaid is my first reading experience with Molly O'Keefe. Not sure how I've missed this writer as her style captured me right from page one. I'm also very glad I can dive into the sequel to this story as I'm 100% invested.

 photo 451C637F-261C-461B-BB53-D08CF0A02C07_zpss13vutj9.jpg

Annie McKay is a woman on the run. Running from an abusive, controlling husband, she lands herself as far from someplace memorable on any given map of North Carolina- a dilapidated trailer park named The Flowered Manor. Taking up residence in a converted old RV, Annie finally feels a semblance of safety in hiding. Peace.

***ring ring***

Annie finds a cellular phone tucked into the couch cushions...the previous tenant must've left it. Curiosity be damned, she answers it. A deep, masculine voice is on the line. Not looking for her, but offers her a "job" watching over the tenant two trailers down for a little cash. She can do that. She does need to eat. And so their dialogue story begins.

Dylan Daniels lives a life of solitude up on the mountain he owns. Buried beneath his secrets, he finds his daily texts and chats with this woman something to look forward to each day. Sure he's lonely but this woman draws him...she's so meek, almost scared, and he wants to break her out of her shell.

The gradual evolution of Dylan and Annie's relationship felt perfect- not rushed yet this semblance of safety from just chatting through an anonymous cell phone line breaks down Annie's walls of protection. She's attracted to his voice, turned on by his grumbles and groins. This is a first. Living the past four years with an abusive husband that doesn't care about her whatsoever (in the bedroom or out) makes her cognizant of just how sexually repressed she is. A little flirting, phone sex never hurt. And her newest library book, Fifty Shades of Grey is moving her libido right along. What happens behind closed trailer doors....

Annie doesn't bank on her newfound sexual energy and attraction to this enigma on the other line. It's building new life experiences both within her trailer and without. He challenges her...and she accepts. Even if it's skinny dipping in the water hole alone or eating dessert for breakfast. But with this newfound independence, Annie finds she wants more...she wants Dylan. To see, and to feel Dylan. But with that, she's terrified. The walls of safety she's constructed must come down. And is he even interested?

 photo 18C66EDE-B4CE-49D1-A3E8-A4B317E019E2_zps1m8uigd1.jpg

Molly O'Keefe constructed a story that spreads beyond just this H/h. She builds a community within her book. A community of folks that have their own secrets, hardships, struggles financially, drama with family, their pasts, but it's a community nonetheless. In some respects they keep to theirselves but deep down you know everyone has each other's back. I loved that "community" aspect of this story. It takes a village and all that jazz...

I'm wholeheartedly invested in this love story of two very scarred people, hiding from their pasts, secrets, even their "presents," yet they find each other nonetheless. It's sexy, suspenseful, and the last half had me feverishly turning the pages for the incoming sh*tstorm I just knew was on the horizon. Will this community come together in the end for Annie? I sure as heck hope so.

Moving on...

Advanced copy received by Random House via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.


Molly O'Keefe has always known she wanted to be a writer (except when she wanted to be a florist or a chef and the brief period of time when she considered being a cowgirl). And once she got her hands on some romances, she knew exactly what she wanted to write.

She published her first Harlequin romance at age 25 and hasn't looked back. She loves exploring every character's road towards happily ever after.

Originally from a small town outside of Chicago, she went to university in St. Louis where she met and fell in love with the editor of her school newspaper. They followed each other around the world for several years and finally got married and settled down in Toronto, Ontario. They welcomed their son into their family in 2006, and their daughter in 2008. When she's not at the park or cleaning up the toy room, Molly is working hard on her next novel, trying to exercise, stalking Tina Fey on the internet and dreaming of the day she can finish a cup of coffee without interruption.

No comments:

Post a Comment