Book Review: Betrayal by Aleatha Romig

14 Oct 2015

Book Title: Betrayal
Author: Aleatha Romig
Series: Infidelity #1
Release Date: October 11th, 2015
Genres: Dark, Erotica Romance, Mystery/Suspense
One week. No future. No past. No more.

Alexandria Collins has one week to live carefree—no ghosts of her past or pressures of her future haunting her. Reinventing herself as "Charli," she is knocked off her feet by a sexy, mysterious man who brings her pleasure like she never imagined. With her heart at stake, she forgets that decisions made in the dark of night reappear in the bright light of day.

"Some of my tastes are unique. They aren’t for everyone. I understand that.”

Lennox "Nox" Demetri is wealthy, confident, and decisive—he knows what he wants. From the first time he sees Charli at an exclusive resort, he knows he wants her. Although he is usually the one to make the rules, together they agree on one:

One week. No more.

When betrayal comes from those closest to Alexandria, she must decide how far she is willing to go to survive. Choices are not always easy, especially when they involve the heart, body, and soul. After all, Infidelity is a business, and some rules are meant to be broken.

"Is it really cheating if you're doing it to yourself?"

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Aleatha Romig comes a sexy, new dominant hero who knows what he wants, and a strong-willed heroine who has plans of her own. With classic Aleatha Romig twists, turns, deceptions, and devotions, this new epic dark romance will have readers swooning one minute and screaming the next. Have you been Aleatha'd?

BETRAYAL is a full-length novel and the first of five in the INFIDELITY series.



"Maybe one day, if it's meant to be, they'll intersect. In the meantime, we'll always have Del Mar and 101."

It's no secret that I am a huge fan of Aleatha's work since the Consequences series. She's one of my go-to authors for the dark suspenseful reads. So when she decided to start a new serial series, I couldn't pass up the chance to read it despite the wait in between.

Just to clear the air up behind the title, there is NO CHEATING involved. The concept of betrayal here does not involve a third wheel nor is there any kind of cheating in its literal sense. Our heroine here, Alexandria has been living her whole life trying to reinvent herself. She's trying to leave behind her family in the Montague Manor who may seem prim and proper but there's more than meet the eyes. She refused to be controlled by her rich step-father who has a grip on her mother and be at his every whim. And so, she left the Manor to pursue her studies and started anew as Alex Collins.

During her recent grad trip with her bestie, Alex decided to escape reality once more by letting loose by coming up with her new persona, Charli. Crossing paths with one sexy mysterious and dominating man called Nox only seemed to help her fueled her fantasy to learn what's it like to lose control. One week with no strings attached, it sounds like the perfect plan but what happens when you want more?

"Our first time will be what you want, what you fantasize about. I'm going to take you, right here, right now."

This book had me equal parts intrigued and equal parts aroused. Both Alex and Nox are strong characters on their own and together, the sexual tension was clearly palpable. And sweet baby jeebus, Nox was such a deliciously sexy enigma that exuded the confidence that could probably melt my panties with his words. I loved how the alternating timeframes was done in the book and how it all came together to the present time towards the end.

Betrayal is definitely a strong start to the Infidelity series and with the last quarter of the read that hints at where this story will go next has already got me impatiently waiting for the second book!! I need more Nox, that's for sure. Can't wait!

Betrayal is the first book in the 5-parts Infidelity series. 
Next book is set out to release in Jan 2016.


Aleatha Romig

Aleatha Romig is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who lives in Indiana. She grew up in Mishawaka, graduated from Indiana University, and is currently living south of Indianapolis. Aleatha has raised three children with her high school sweetheart and husband of nearly thirty years. Before she became a full-time author, she worked days as a dental hygienist and spent her nights writing. Now, when she's not imagining mind-blowing twists and turns, she likes to spend her time a with her family and friends. Her other pastimes include reading and creating heroes/anti-heroes who haunt your dreams!

Aleatha released her first novel, CONSEQUENCES, in August of 2011. CONSEQUENCES became a bestselling series with five novels and two companions released from 2011 through 2015. The compelling and epic story of Anthony and Claire Rawlings has graced more than half a million e-readers.

Aleatha released the first of her series TALES FROM THE DARK SIDE, INSIDIOUS, in the fall of 2014. These stand alone thrillers continue Aleatha's twisted style with an increase in heat. 

In the fall of 2015, Aleatha moved head first into the world of dark romance with the release of BETRAYAL, the first of her five novel INFIDELITY series. She also began her traditional publishing career with Thomas and Mercer. Her books INTO THE LIGHT and AWAY FROM THE DARK will be published through this mystery/thriller publisher in 2016.

Aleatha is a "Published Author's Network" member of the Romance Writers of America and represented by Danielle Egan-Miller of Browne & Miller Literary Associates. 

No comments:

Post a Comment