ARC Review + Giveaway: Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne

25 Aug 2015

Book Title: Blurred Lines
Author: Lauren Layne
Series: Standalone
Release Date: August 25th, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult Romance
In a novel that's perfect for fans of Abbi Glines and Jessica Sorensen, USA Today bestselling author Lauren Layne delivers a sexy take on the timeless question: Can a guy and a girl really be “just friends”?

When Parker Blanton meets Ben Olsen during her freshman year of college, the connection is immediate—and platonic. Six years later, they're still best friends, sharing an apartment in Portland's trendy Northwest District as they happily settle into adult life. But when Parker's boyfriend dumps her out of the blue, she starts to wonder about Ben's no-strings-attached approach to dating. The trouble is, even with Ben as her wingman, Parker can't seem to get the hang of casual sex—until she tries it with him.

The arrangement works perfectly . . . at first. The sex is mind-blowing, and their friendship remains as solid as ever, without any of the usual messy romantic entanglements. But when Parker's ex decides he wants her back, Ben is shocked by a fierce stab of possessiveness. And when Ben starts seeing a girl from work, Parker finds herself plagued by unfamiliar jealousy. With their friendship on the rocks for the first time, Parker and Ben face an alarming truth: Maybe they can't go back. And maybe, deep down, they never want to.



 photo BA2E03D6-9518-4E5F-9C81-2B57380E45EB_zpshqezz3oi.jpg 

Blurred Lines was a cute friends-to-lovers NA read. Parker and Ben have been best friends for years- dating back to grade school. Now college graduates, they've defied the odds- still best buddies, roommates, and car-pool pals. Everyone says a guy and girl can't keep it platonic but boy, they've proved them all wrong... Or have they? 

When Parker's long-time boyfriend dumps her, she finds herself questioning the need for serious relationships. I mean, Ben hooks up with a different "no strings attached" girl every night and his heart stays peacefully intact. Maybe there's something to be said for that. Can she get the physical benefits (SEX) with a guy without the emotional attachment? She can sure try... 

Ben watches Parker attempt to heal her broken heart by this new-found idea of casual hookups, he's surprisingly against it. She's his best friend- surely this is him being protective and not jealous

Parker doesn't take long to figure out she needs to know a person to sleep with them. Yet every guy she meets, she's not connecting with on a personal level. No guy connects with her like Ben. Parker just needs sex pronto- maybe a friends-with-benefits situation is the solution. What can it hurt?

   photo bbtfriendship_zpsb39298dc.gif 

Blurred Lines is one of those easy-to-read, enjoyable plotlines. Guy and girl are besties, something happens to make them venture outside of friendship boundaries and everything soon becomes amuck.   
Parker and Ben had a really cute relationship. As different as they are on a dating/commitment practices, their chummy roommate banter and house rules were endearingly cute. Just a guy and girl picking their battles on laundry, housecleaning, shower name it. So comfortable in each other...
"Do I get to do that 'it's a rag' routine with your underwear next time you do laundry?" I ask. "Because I've seen some of your panties. You may as well stitch death to boner across the front."
Yet their growing emotional connection was also palpable. Not all physical but you felt their profound loyalty to one other above all others. When one person hurt, they BOTH hurt. Written in 1st person dual POV, I loved getting inside each of their minds. Ms Layne did a stellar job depicting the comfort and commitment to their friendship above all else. 

I have to say, as I often do with the NA genre, there were times I wanted to throttle them. Communicate! So much could've been prevented in this book had the two of them stopped playing games and opened up to one another. But then we wouldn't have a full-length book, now would we?

I didn't find their push and pull as angsty as some other friends-to-lovers tropes but it was enough to keep me turning the pages hoping for a happily-ever-after for these two. Both valued their friendship above all else and the chance of irreparably damaging it by admitting to anything beyond friendship wasn't happening. But can two people play that casual game forever- denying their true feelings? Or do they fess up and risk it all crumbling before them if the other person isn't feeling it?


  Advanced readers copy received by Loveswept Publishing via NetGalley 
in exchange for my honest review.


Lauren Layne

Lauren Layne is the USA Today Bestselling author of contemporary romance.

Prior to becoming an author, Lauren worked in e-commerce and web-marketing. In 2011, she and her husband moved from Seattle to New York City, where Lauren decided to pursue a full-time writing career. It took six months to get her first book deal (despite ardent assurances to her husband that it would only take three). Since then, Lauren's gone on to publish ten books, including the bestselling Stiletto series, with several more on the way in 2015.

Lauren currently lives in Chicago with her husband and spoiled Pomeranian. When not writing, you'll find her at happy hour, running at a doggedly slow pace, or trying to straighten her naturally curly hair.

Author Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads


1 comment :