ARC Review: My Unscripted Life by Lauren Morill

11 Oct 2016

Book Title: My Unscripted Life
Author: Lauren Morrill
Series: Standalone
Release Date: October 11th, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary 
Perfect for fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Huntley Fitzpatrick, you'll love this funny and sweet contemporary romance about a Southern girl ready for a ho-hum summer until she meets the boy of her dreams who happens to be an international pop star.

Sometimes love stories go off script.

Another sultry Georgia summer is about to get a lot hotter. Dee Wilkie is still licking her wounds after getting rejected by the precollege fine arts program of her dreams. But if she'd gone away, she wouldn't have been around to say yes to an unbelievable opportunity: working on the set of a movie filming in her small Southern town that just happens to be starring Milo Ritter, the famous pop star Dee (along with the rest of the world) has had a crush since eighth grade.

It's not like Dee will be sharing any screen time with Milo—she's just a lowly PA. And Milo is so disappointingly rude that Dee is eager to stay far away from him. Except after a few chance meetings, she begins to wonder if just maybe there's a reason for his offensive attitude, and if there's more to Milo than his good looks and above-it-all Hollywood pedigree. Can a relationship with a guy like Milo ever work out for a girl like Dee? Never say never...

I’m a little torn on how to rate this book because on one hand, it was a quick, fun summer read but on the other, it got a little too dramatic for my YA taste which had me rolling my eyes over. So after mulling over this read for a short while, I decided to stick to a mediocre rating where I didn’t hate the book but I didn’t love the book either.

When I first chose to pick up this book, the blurb drew me in because every now and then, I enjoy a nice summer read with movie star boyfriends. It reminded me a little of “This Is What Happy Looks Like” by Jennifer E. Smith and I really enjoyed that one more than I thought. So in this one, we got our heroine, Dee who got a PA job on a movie set at her local hometown and the actor starring in the movie is one of her dream celebrity crush, Milo.

Now the romance was mainly one of the elements that didn’t quite meet my expectations. I felt like it was really rushed and after going out on one date, they suddenly had a connection? So Milo was being all cold at the beginning, dealing with his celebrity issues but for some reason he would then decide to approach Dee later on and talked to her as if they were friends. I just didn’t get it, so to me that was rushed.  I wished the author would have spent more time building up a proper friendship before just diving into one.

However aside the above, I still enjoyed the read for a good portion especially with the appearance of Naz who brought some great snark and humor to the read! Also it was nice to read about the behind the scenes of a movie production and I thought it was refreshing to read about that in this book. 

Overall, it’s still a quick fluffy read if you’re just looking for some romance that isn’t too heavy to read. 


ARC provided by publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Lauren Morrill

Lauren Elizabeth Morrill is many things, including, but not limited to, a writer, an educator, a badass roller derby skater, a former band nerd, an aggressive driver, and a die-hard Mac person. She also watches a lot of TV, eats a lot of junk food, and drinks a lot of Coke. It's a wonder her brain and teeth haven't rotted out of her head.

Lauren is the author of Meant to Be, Being Sloane Jacobs, The Trouble With Destiny, and the forthcoming My Unscripted Life (October 2016), all from Random House.

No comments:

Post a Comment